They Grow Up So Fast & Thankful for Today

When you have your first child (and even when you have your fourth), everyone feels the need to give you advice. You might be told that you dress your baby too warmly, or that they don’t have enough on to keep them warm. You’ll be given advice on feeding, sleeping, spoiling and when you should (or shouldn’t) have another baby. Once piece of advice I have heard over and over is to enjoy your children today, because they grow up so fast.

Many people want to keep their babies little. To pretend that they won’t be another day older tomorrow. That you lose something once they start to grow. I have loved my babies. The smell, the snuggles, the amazing blessing. But I also love my children today. The unique way God has created them to be. So today, on Thanksgiving Day, I am thankful for who my children are today and what they will become tomorrow.

Elise: I loved Elise as a 2 and 3-year-old. She had the best cheeks and the curliest red hair. She made everyone smile. I love her even more today. Elise is always learning something new (and amazing) and wanting to share it with us. Almost overnight, she has turned into a fantastic reader. I love listening to her read. She enjoys the sciences, especially animals and would rather watch a “learning show” than anything else.  She will be an amazing woman of God.

Emaline: Emaline was a mini-me at age 1 (she still is). She had these amazingly huge blue eyes, and China doll face. I love her even more today. Emaline puts her size to shame with her fiestiness. She loves being with her family. She loves to sing (all the time), create stories and still likes to snuggle. There is so much life in her. She will make people happy.

Ellasyn: Ella was a sweet baby. She was so content, quiet and loving. She smiled a lot, slept well and was a blessing from above after I miscarried twins. I love her even more today. Ella is a strong and vibrant 2-year-old. She wants her sisters to know that she is more than just the “little sister.” She is learning so much, loves to sing and can count in English and Spanish. She will be a leader.

Colton: Colton was the missing part to our family. Not just because he is a boy. I loved having a newborn again. The smell, the eyes, the small warm bundle in my arms. The blessing of this little boy brings tears to my eyes. At 5 months, he has changed so much. I love how he smiles when I walk into the room and how his eyes light up. He has great eyebrows. He makes his sisters laugh. He will be a man of God.

One thought on “They Grow Up So Fast & Thankful for Today

  1. Beautiful! You’ve brought joy to my heart and tears to my eyes. Your children are not only what God has planned and is doing in their young lives, but also what you have done and said to them as a wonderful, loving mother. Your children are the jewels in your crown. You truly are blessed.

Leave a Reply

