Radio Silence

radio-silence

Radio Silence.

A status where radio stations are asked to stop all transmissions in an area for safety or security reasons.

Safety or security reasons.

I have been in radio silence on my blog since 2012. It’s hard to believe it’s been that long. If you asked me, I would have said, “Oh, it’s been a couple of years. Maybe three.”

Why?

Safety and security.

The heaviness of life, has been…well, heavy.

Every new year, I pick a new word to help guide and focus me. My word back in 2012 was “Faithful.”

Faithful through the good, the celebrations, the every day, the hard, the heavy.

I got stuck in the heavy.

Radio silence.

Two years ago my word was “Restore.”

Restore the broken, old, weary, heavy. We moved into a 100-year-old home that year. Not only was the restoration going on in my heart and my soul, but in our new home. Layers upon layers of wallpaper. Old, dirty, slightly pink paint. Lots of scraping. Lots of cleaning.

Beauty comes out of restoration.

Rest.

New.

Songs.

This year, my word has changed.

Rejoice.

Again, I say rejoice!

New Year’s Day I put my feet in the salty water and washed away all of what was and rejoiced in all that was coming.

img_0696

The radio silence is over.

There are joys and sorrows to be shared, songs to be sung, and stories to be told.

I choose to rejoice! Join me.

image1-2

 

4 thoughts on “Radio Silence

  1. My word has been renew until this week. Now, it’s persist. I wanted to renew and deepen my love affair with Jesus, following the example of my role model, Mary of Bethany. That was the easy part. Then along came the year of vitriolic campaigning and elections. Only the holy seasons of Advent, Christmas, and Epiphany kept me afloat until a January of depression. Now that it’s almost the middle of February, I lift my head, raise my fist, and persist in slogging through the mire. After all, as Scarlett O’Hare proclaimed at the end of GONE WITH THE WIND, “Tomorrow is another day.” My Lord is waiting.

Leave a Reply

